Free Newsletter
Register for our Free Newsletters
Airport, Border and Port Safety and Security
Left Nav Sep
Left Nav Sep
Civil Aircraft
Left Nav Sep
Civil Airlines, Airports and Services
Left Nav Sep
Communications and Navigation
Left Nav Sep
Education, Training and Professional Services
Left Nav Sep
Manufacturing and Materials
Left Nav Sep
Military and Defence Facilities
Left Nav Sep
Military Aviation
Left Nav Sep
Military Vehicles
Left Nav Sep
Naval Systems
Left Nav Sep
Personal Equipment
Left Nav Sep
Software and IT Services
Left Nav Sep
Space and Satellite
Left Nav Sep
Weapons, Ammunition and Explosives
Left Nav Sep
View All
Other Carouselweb publications
Carousel Web
Defense File Logo
New Material Logo
Pro Health Service Zone
Pro Manufacturing Zone
Prosecurity Zone
Web Lec Logo
Pro Engineering Zone

FAA-Air Transport Association ?Better Way? award winners announced

Strict Standards: Only variables should be passed by reference in /home/defensef/public_html/components/com_zone/handleHTML.php on line 623
Air Transport Association Of America (ATA)
: 24 September, 2009  (Company News)
The Air Transport Association of America (ATA), the industry trade organization for the leading U.S. airlines, in association with the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), today recognized the recipients of the 2009 FAA-ATA Non-Destructive Testing (NDT) "Better Way’ award.
The “Better Way” award recognizes a team of government and airline industry individuals who together worked to advance inspection and testing of aircraft structure, components or systems. This award, jointly sponsored by the FAA and ATA, was presented today at the ATA Non-Destructive Testing (NDT) Forum in Atlanta, Georgia.

Industry professionals recognized with this prestigious award are: Ed Lukas and Bernie Adamache from Air Canada Jazz; Jerome Pinsonnault, Roy Wong and Jean-Marc Bertrand from Bombardier Inc.; David Piotrowski, John Bohler and John Lee from Delta Air Lines; Alex Melton, Robert Hager and Malcolm Berner from Northwest Airlines (now Delta Air Lines); Dennis Roach, Kirk Rackow and Ciji Nelson from the Airworthiness Assurance Non-Destructive Inspection (NDI) Validation Center (AANC); Jeffrey Kollgaard, John Linn, William Jappe and Masood Zaidi from The Boeing Company; Rick Lopez from Iowa State University; and Mark Vellacott from Structural Monitoring Systems.

This year’s winning team, the “Application and Validation of Comparative Vacuum Monitoring (CVM) Sensors for In-Situ Crack Detection” team, was recognized for its accomplishments in the testing, evaluation and validation of a sensor that detects cracks and flaws during the inspection process, particularly in hard-to-access areas. AANC initially teamed with Boeing, Delta Air Lines, Northwest Airlines (now Delta Air Lines) and Structural Monitoring Systems (SMS) to study deployment and long-term operation of the sensors. More than two years of flight tests, factors such as environmental durability, sealant protection and reliability were evaluated. As a result of these and other tests, Boeing added this technique to its Common Methods NDT manual. Over the past year, the sensor has been used to monitor cracking on engine mount beams with the participation of Air Canada Jazz and Bombardier. The use of the CVM sensor is the first time that an original equipment manufacturer (OEM) has adopted structural health monitoring techniques by using a mountable sensor. The team has proven that this sensor can facilitate a more sensitive, rapid and reliable inspection.

“ATA congratulates this year’s winning team for its extraordinary work in the advancement of crack detection inspections, and the industry will benefit from your successes,” said ATA President and CEO James C. May. “It is my pleasure to recognize your accomplishment today, as it underscores the critical need for our industry to continue such innovative, collaborative efforts to enhance safety.”
Bookmark and Share
Home I Editor's Blog I News by Zone I News by Date I News by Category I Special Reports I Directory I Events I Advertise I Submit Your News I About Us I Guides
   Â© 2012
Netgains Logo